In some countries university students live at home with their family while they study, whereas in other countries students attend university in another city. Do you think the benefits of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

In many places, people stay in hostels when they are at university, while in others they stay with their families. Although, when students are away from their relatives they miss them and have to do their own work, the benefits of the environment they get and the time they save when they are away means that the advantages far outweigh the drawbacks. First of all, when these young adults have to stay in a different city than their family they miss them. That is because they can not visit them whenever they want, and this affects their health as well. Moreover, because of living alone, they have to do their household chores, which also takes plenty of time and energy. For instance, the University of Buckingham recently published a report indicating that on average students spend 8 to hours per week doing daily chores. However, this can be managed by doing proper planning and visiting family regularly on vacations. On the other hand, when a young person stays in accommodations away from home, it provides him or her with an independent environment that helps them in character development. Also, if they were in their homes, they have to spend hours daily travelling to and from their homes to universities, which is saved and can be used for doing other things. For example, in Karachi university goers waste 2 to 3 hours daily while travelling from their house to educational institutes. In conclusion, although living closer to family and the comfort someone gets in their home has some benefits. The benefits they get from living in hostels in the form of character building means there are more advantages.