Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Language barriers are the most common issue of people who want to live overseas this is because of social and practical difficulties. That's why most foreign countries require an individual to undergo a certain language evaluation or training to remove themselves from isolation and discrimination. I completely agree with this notion and will discuss it in this essay. To start, people are aware that, in order to survive living overseas they need to be very conversant so they would not have to isolate themselves and gain a stable life in their chosen destination. For example, one of the common ways is by taking english test, which is common for migrants and international students in American and European countries. Moreover, this process has been used in visa screening of an individual, wherein the immigration officer would ask a series of questions to determine their level of communication, in that way, they will know if they have the capacity to start their new life away from their home. Since, they will have to interact with other people in their daily life, such as classmates at school, colleagues in the workplace, going to the groceries, dining in a restaurant and knowing their future neighbours. Secondly, in order to adapt living abroad, an individual will need to look for a job, but having difficulty communicating with others is an issue. In fact, if the person is not confident attending the interview process they would end up not getting the job. Thus, leading to unemployment and discrimination. Aside from that, if in case they are working in a company in an Arab country for example, and they see themselves growing with this company, others may think of pursuing a promotion. Since, there are other employees who are bilingual, that is where discrimination comes in, companies would prefer them because of their better language qualification and the company would benefit more. Even if, that person does not have the experience but only the language advantage. In conclusion, speaking a foreign language is very important when living in another country as it will help the person to grow and have a stable life overseas. Not adapting and keeping themselves isolated can cause stress which beats the purpose of trying to live a life in a different country.