It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science as a subject. What are the causes? And what will be the effects on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

There is a change in trend among young individuals around the world. More and more students are now opting away from science fields as a career. Seeing others who choose technology related subjects struggling and social media are the main reasons for that, and this change is going to affect the development and scientific progress. To begin, social media and internet has made us aware of everything that happened around us. Therefore, when people see scientists, doctors and engineers struggling in their careers, it influence them to change their mind. Moreover, on the contrary, when people see those who do not have university education and those who have opted business related fields are making more money, earlier thin life, it definitely affects their thinking. When people come to know about these folks through Facebook, TikTok and other platforms they are influenced by them. For example, survey conducted by a university in India found that number of people who wanted to become social media influencer and not applying for university admission after passing high school, have tripled in the last decade. All these changes are negatively impacting the society. Firstly, when less people are applying for higher education, it will ultimately decrease the competition and the standard of education as well. This will reduce the number of professionals available for jobs. Consequently, their standard and quality will also decrease. Moreover, because of this trend, education level is also declining. In conclusion, media influence and the struggle face by the people are the main causes for this change and it will negatively impact the future. Therefore, it is recommended to that governments should take certain actions to promote education.