Many people believe that reducing obesity is due to educating people, while others argue that education does not work. Discuss both points and give your opinion?

In recent years, obesity has been a major health concern among people. Although some agree that education played a huge role in the decrease of obesity, others argue that learning has nothing to do with it. In this essay, I shall discuss both sides of this argument before presenting my perspective that education can teach individuals about the benefits of healthy diet and the risk associated with obesity. To begin with, let us shed light on benefits of education and awareness. First and foremost, some people and myself included, support that education has a major role to play in the reduction of obesity and they will understand the importance of excercise and healthy eating habits, such as portion size to be consumed, benefits of including five food groups in the meals and the correct time to consume food. Additionally, schools and public health campaigns can also play a crucial role in making people aware about the effectiveness of mindfull eating and the risk factors which of being over weight. For instance, a survey conducted by UNICEF in May 2018, in the U.S. on 500 adults ranging between 25-40 years revealed that 70% of them learned about obesity in schools. Those who advocate that education alone is not enough argue that understanding socio-economic factors can complement educational efforts. To clarify, people in lower socioeconomic groups may not have access to healthy food or the time to excercise, which education alone cannot solve. Economic and social policies may be needed to address these barriers. Moreover, the culture of eating and the availability of fast food are significant. Education efforts needs to be coupled with changes in the food enviornment to make healthier options more accessible and appealing. To conclude, I agree to the first view that education has a major role in the decline of obesity in individuals as this helps them learn better about their bodies, healthy eating habits and diseases related to obesity. However, other group of people believe that education alone is not sufficient, tackling other barriers like socio-economic factors, culture of eating can complement education.