In many countries, childhood obesity is a growing problem. What are the reasons for this and what can individuals and governments do to tackle the problem?

In more than one country children suffering from obesity are an increasing concern. I think that an exaggerated consumption of junk food is the problem's main reason, but both governments and individuals can tackle the problem with some measures. Nowadays, the access to junk food is easier than ever. The rapid development of the internet has allowed chains of fast foods to reach a wider audience. This type of restaurants aim to sell a large amount of products with a minimal profit, and cheap prices always tempt people, especially youngs. For example, in these days McDonald's is launching its usual winter promotion, called Winterdays. Due to this promotion, from the last days of November to the middle of December, a really valuable promotion on products or menus is promoted each day, and this brings tons of people to eat more than usual at the restaurant. On the other hand, I believe that there are measures that can be taken in order to address the problem. Firstly, governments could put havier taxes on this type of food. This would force fast foods to rise their prices and people might be less attracted. However, individuals, especially parents, must do their part too. In my opinion, individuals should be more conscious on how much unhealthy junk food is and avoid to eat it too often. While, parents should give healthier food to their children, trying also to balance thier diet. Children should eat vegetables almost every day and it would be better if they avoid eating junk food at all. In conclusion, I believe that the growing problem in childhood obesity should be of primary importance to governments, but also each person should try to address the problem by himself.