Writing Task 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some countries have introduced laws to limit working hours for employees. Why are these laws introduced? Do you think they are a positive or negative development? You should write at least 250 words.

In the last centuries, many laws have been approved to reduce the number of working hours for employees. These laws were mainly asked by the employees themselves who wanted to improve their life condition and, overall, they were a positive development. In Italy, the working- hours limit has decreased over the years and nowadays it is fixed at 40 hours a week over 5 working days. Notably, there is a lot of discussion if this limit should be reduced again to 36 hours a week in just 4 days. As a fact, many companies are experimenting with this option even without a law and they are mostly satisfies about the results. In fact, studies show that if workers have more free time, they become more productive and are able to complete all their tasks in a smaller amount of time. Moreover, their life conditions would also improve considerably. Having three days off, many people would be able to spend more time with their families, to practice sports or to just relax. In conclusion, the laws that limit working hours for employees have been a positive development.