In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

In more than one country students prefer to subscribe themselves in work-based trainings instead of going to university. I believe that in the first moment this can have positive effects on both economy and individuals, but in a long term period its disadvantages will outweigh the advantages. On one hand, people who choose a training will be able to go working earlier than those who enrol at university. It may surely have positive effects on the government's economy. This is due to the fact that these people would pay taxes and so the government would have an higher income. In addition, being able to work earlier allows people to become more indipendent. To give an example, young people who earn their own money are able to pay for their own needs and their parents do not have to maintain them. However, countries with a larger number of people that choose to enrol in work-based training have a lower rate of high educated people. It is proved that a lower proportion of people who had attended college or university would lead to a higher rate of unemployment in the future, and this could certainly affects the economy in a negative way. Furthermore, people who choose to not attend university are statistically more likely to have a lower income than those who continue their studies after high school. In conclusion, I believe that in a short term period the advantages of work-based trainings cannot be discussed, but with regard to a longer period, the disadvantages of this situation are surely of higher importance than its advantages.