Internet addiction How serious is this problem among young people where you live, and what can be done about it?

The Internet might be the biggest sensation of the 20th century. Back then people would have not even imagined what an essential part of an individual’s life this invention would become. It's no brainer that this ever-developing technology is used widely in today’s world. Young people are the largest portion of the internet users. But how much does it cost to be online almost 24/7? Is it harmful or useful after all? First and foremost, it’s certain that the internet has two sides, one of which is beneficial and the other one is rather dangerous. There is no doubt that this invention majorly helps people with doing research on a various topics, offers a myriad of online services, such as making an appointment with a doctor, buying plane tickets, using digital maps to travel around the world with no need to leave your home or texting people that live on the other side of the planet. However, as much as it is helpful and convenient, there seems to be a serious issue among young people regarding the usage of this recource. Most youngsters are glued to their cell phones, leading to a few severe consequences. Firstly, the content on their phones or other devices capture their attention entirely, making it difficult to stay in the present moment, communicate with real people or even observe the environment without a need of scrolling. For instance, whenever I use public transportation, I observe passengers’ behaviour and most children or young adults are fixated on their phones, isn't it pitiful? They definitely spend too much time on social media, which causes their attention spans shorten and the tendency of comparing yourself to online personalities has a great damage on people ’s self-esteem. It can not only affect mental health, but also cause long-term harm to their sight or posture as they lean their necks towards their devices. In addition, students tend to put less effort into their assignments, as more and more artificial intelegince platforms are doing the hard work for them. What is the quality of education, then? Even if there are clear benefits of using the internet, the harm to young people is also undeniable. So, what can be done about this problem? If a person is conscious enough about their internet addiction, they can set limits to their most used apps or platforms or use specific programs that are there to block the selected content. Social media lovers, on the other hand, could use a trick of social media detox, to live a few weeks without it. As for the students, schools should be more strict about the usage of the phones and gather them while the test is taken, encourage students to join clubs, spend more time outside, find new hobbies or educate young people about the dark side of the internet and the consequences that may occur after overusing it. Hence, there are some solutions that may make this issue less severe. In a nutshell, the internet is a great source for different reasons, but it’s also harmful, especially for young people. However, there are also solutions for this issue, to make sure that the addiction of living online would not harm the lives of the future generations.