Task 2- Childhood obesity is an increasing problem in Australia as many as two thirds of children are now obese. Schools have a responsibility to monitor what their students eat and the amount of exercise they do. To what extend do you agree to this statemen

In Australia, obesity among children is an increasing problem, and around two thirds of children are suffering from obesity. Some people argue that schools should take that responsibility to monitor what children are eating, and how much exercise they are doing. I completely agree with this statement because children spend a significant amount of time at school, and both parents are working and therefore, they cannot manage enough time to look after their children. Children spend a large amount of time at their school. They spend around 7 to 8 hours in a day at school. They come to school in the early morning and leave in the afternoon. They study at school, have lunch and enjoy their leisure time. Therefore, it is easier for the school authority to monitor what children are eating, whether they participate in daily exercise or not, and how much exercise they are doing. For example, in Japan, children spend around &.5 hours in their school, and therefore, the school authority provides them with healthy lunch and monitors whether they are eating properly. In addition, nowadays, in almost every family, both parents are working. Parents are very busy to maintain their work-life balance, and they cannot manage enough time to spend with their children and look after them. Therefore, they mainly depend on schools to look after their children, and schools should have that responsibility to look after the well-being of children and monitor their exercise and food habit. For example, in Australia, both parents or carers of a child work and come home from work at late night. Therefore, they cannot properly monitor the well-being of their children. In conclusion, I completely agree with this viewpoint that food and exercise habits of children should be monitored at school. Parents are busy and children spend a large amount of time at school.