Nowadays children mostly spend time playing computer games rather than sports. Is it positive or negative development?

Young adults these days are often considered to play games instead of engaging in sports. While this decision clearly has some drawbacks for their social lives and health, I tend to believe it has many reasons to be changed for the better. Admittedly, there are a number of factors why playing video games is seen as a negative activity. First and foremost, one of these is social isolation. As children tend to spend most of their time with technology and games, they can become obsessed with a digital world, leading to a loss of their sense of joviality and socialization. This is why excessive gaming can limit face-to-face interactions and hinder the development of interpersonal skills. This, in turn, can lead to feelings of alienation and depression. Additionally, health concerns may be another factor in this phenomenon. Prolonged screen time has a detrimental impact on physical activity, which causes health issues, ranging from obesity to vision impairment. Because children develop poor posture as a result of being in front of the screen, it puts their health at considerable risk. As a consequence, youngsters may experience many health issues during their lifetime. On the other hand, despite these negative aspects of playing computer games rather than sports, I am still convinced that a shift from sports activities to video games is a positive development. Initially, cognitive skills enhancement may be the main factor in this. For instance, if children spend their time on computer games, due to some games including puzzles and strategies, they are more likely to be encouraged to use logical reasoning and creativity. Also, they provide children with an opportunity to improve cognitive development and problem-solving skills in an easy way. This, as a result, contributes to a more logically developed generation who can make decisions on their own. Furthermore, another reason is technological familiarity. When children adapt to a digital world, gaming can build early exposure to technology, since some games involve coding, fostering STEM skills. This, in effect, not only helps them develop critical thinking skills, but also helps them become familiar with technologies. To conclude, regardless of these issues related to computer games, I reckon that there are favourable chances for them, as they facilitate familiarity with technology as well as enhancement in cognitive thinking.