Some people argue that the government should spend only on medical care and education, not theaters or sports stadiums. Do you agree or disagree?

Few people thought that medical centres and schools should be more of a concern for the government to spend money on rather than theatres and stadiums. I agree with the statement due to several reasons. First, those two sectors are basic human needs and most need renovation. Second, hospitals and education centers still need to be expanded in rural areas. To begin with, health care and education centers are basic things everyone needs daily, and nowadays, these infrastructures need more attention from the government due to a lack of facilities or the buildings need to be updated too old. For instance, in the health field, a survey from the Faculty of Medicine in Universitas Riau shows that, on average, three hundred people, whether the hospital or the local health center, go to the medical center daily-center daily, whether the hospital or the local health center. Moreover, Public Health Service in Sumatra reported that there are more than 2.780 local health care that need to be renovated because the conditions are not safe, there is a lack of public services such as air conditioners and couches, also most of them have small buildings that cannot accommodate all the visitors. Hence, the government needs to be more concerned about this area. Furthermore, education centers such as colleges are rarely found in remote areas. Schools are the basic education that every child needs. However, schools are limited in some regions. Based on the data from Badan Pusat Statistik Indonesia, Pekanbaru, the capital city of Riau province, has about 71 public schools, from elementary to high schools, and about ten public and private universities. Meanwhile, Bangkinang, a suburb only one hour’s drive from Pekanbaru, has only 20 public schools and no college. Another example is Siak, about an hour’s drive from Pekanbaru and an hour’s drive from Pekanbaru, only with less than 15 schools. This phenomenon creates an imbalance to make an equal life between a big city and rural areas. Therefore, the government needs to spend the budget on this area. To conclude, education and health centers are crucial, and the government needs to improve this field rather than sports centers or theaters. Education and health are basic societal needs, and the government needs to look for more facilities for these fields in rural areas.