Fresh water has always been a limited resource in some parts of the world. Today, however, growing worldwide demand has made this a global problem. What are the causes of the increased demand, what measurements can governments and individuals take to respond to this problem?

The increasing number of population around the world has caused several challenges for human. For limited reservoirs of sweet water, demand has soared significantly. Expansive agricultural activities along with global warming are to issues related to shortage in water. Whereas, it can be alleviated by appropriate policies of states. Firstly, In order to provide sustenance for growing number of human, day by day, more wilderness has been transformed to farms where more crops can be cultivated. Therefore, the consumption of water, vital for agricultural activities, is a huge amount in this sector. Chinese farmers are the consumers of nearly 70 per cent of water resources of the country. Moreover,compared to the past when the earth was cooler than today, the emission of greenhouse gases having a significant effect on global warming is remarkably skyrocketed. Following global warming, the precipitation patterns has been disturbed, and less snow fall and rain fall occur in every continent. Consequently, the reduction in consumable water has turned to a dire issue. However, By taking apt actions by governments, they can lessen the side effects. One way is replacing traditional irrigation methods with modern irrigation systems, which decreases the water usage outstandingly. This can result in efficient application of water in cultivation process. Furthermore, regarding to irregular precipitation patterns, an outcome of global warming, states can legislate laws to curb greenhouse gases' emission. This would reduce temperature of the earth,and thus, cooler weather might help to regulate the precipitations. Overall, while the notable volume of water resources are involved in agricultural processes, and global warming leads to less rain fall and snow fall, the shortage in water resources can be lessened by governments' reasonable actions.