Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living and working in a foreign country.

In recent times, the world is evidencing migration to foreign countries for education, employment, improved lifestyle and so on. Relocating from one nation to another for work, living is like two sides of the same coin with its own advantages and disadvantages which will be enlightened in this essay further. To commence with, as a result of poverty, unemployment and low salary in their own nations, the youth and skilled workers from many third world nations nowadays are migrating to the western nations in search of better life and employment prospects. Notably, the developed western nations are known to provide good jobs, higher salary leading to better quality of life. As a result, moving abroad helps the immigrants to get top quality educational facilities, high payment jobs and in turn lead a luxury life. Moreover, in contrast to few Asian countries, the western culture is known for maintaining a good work life balance which indeed improves one’s lifestyle. Additionally, these western nations are equipped with state-of-the-art medical facilities. This improves the life span of all individuals. To top it on, these western nations are less densely populated with low poverty levels, are less polluted in comparison to underdeveloped and developing countries. Overall, all these factors prove a boon for people living abroad. Conversely, living or working abroad comes with numerous disadvantages. Not all immigrants have their family members living with them. Majority of these people live alone and in the span of time face loneliness. Loneliness, lack of emotional support, disconnection from family and friend can lead to depression which make it difficult to stay happy. Furthermore, living abroad results in disconnection with one’s own culture. For instance, people who have been living abroad for many years tend to forget their cultural roots, significance of their cultural festivals eventually disregarding their culture in which they grew. Some of these individuals even look down upon the people of their own country with inferiority complex. Another disadvantage of great significance is that the western culture is highly individualistic where people are not quite friendly with foreign migrants resulting in serious concerns like racism. To recapitulate, although the lifestyle in abroad nations is quite modern and luring, the disadvantages cannot be ignored and must be given a thought before planning to move abroad.