Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is an ongoing debate between some people whether it is the responsibility of the parents or the school teachers to teach the young citizens to be good members of the society. This essay with throw light upon both these viewpoints and also share my personal opinion on this debatable topic as I believe that lessons about growing into responsible citizens should be taught in all contexts of daily life and not just in a particular setting. To begin with, in the primitive years children undoubtedly spend majority of their time in the home environment along with their parents and other family members. Therefore, it is during this developmental time that children begin to learn pragmatic skills while they see their elders interact with each other along with their neighbors. Naturally children see their parents as their role models and thus imitate the behaviors of their parents while living in the society. Apart from this incidental learning, parents should be thoughtful about imbibing moral values in their children to help them learn to survive in the outside world. This teaching which happens in the most natural environment will help the parents monitor their child’s behavior and give immediate feedback to the child in regards to whether the child’s behavior was acceptable or unacceptable. Owing to the above reasons, parents are the cornerstone of building good future citizens of the society. On the contrary, as children grow, they spend majority of their time in schools and other coaching centers rather than being in the protected home environment. It is during this developmental period that children are exposed to the other world interacting with their friends, fellow classmates and are under the supervision of their teachers. Furthermore, this environment unlike at home is more controlled. It is therefore, the teachers who watch the child’s behaviors in a yet different social context as they see children interact with their friends and batchmates while they help one another, play and study together. Consequently, teachers are the ones who inculcate moral behavior in children to help them become good members of society. Taking into consideration both the viewpoints, it is important to note that parents and teachers both have a valuable and distinct role in helping children become responsible future citizens. This is due to the fact that parents and teachers both interact and monitor children in completely different environments and situations. For instance, parents are unable to teach good values and behavior when the child is in school and the vice versa. To summarize, parents and teachers both play an equally vital role in developing good future citizens and neither of their roles can be disregarded