Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changes because of technology. In what way has technology affected the types of relationship people make? Has this become a positive or negative development?

As a consequence of technological advancements, people no longer communicate in the traditional way. Majority of the people interact with the others using messaging and video calling systems available on many social media platforms. Technology has played a huge role in the way relationships are made and maintained these days, as it helps save time and efforts of travelling to meet people. Contrastingly, it also poses some threats of fraudulent behavior. This essay will dicuss both the positive and the negative aspects in further detail. To commence with, the invention of wireless communication via internet has completely changed the methods of communication used by people. This technology allows people to interaction with their loved ones living miles hassle free. It allows communication with the flexibity of time and location. In comparison to the older methods of communication via letters and telegrams, the newer techonology is highly efficient without any significant delay. The flexibity of time and place helps to nurture and maintain their emotional bonds and helps reduce loneliness which develops as a result of living away from one’s own family and busy lives. As a result, the bonds grow stronger. Moreover, video calling over the internet, is beneficial for business and trade as well where business meetings can now be held online, thus saving both effort and money. For illustration, during the COVID-19 pandemic, video calling systems helped people to keep in touch with their families. It is worth noting that, during this same time, schools were also functioning over the video calling platforms. On the flip side, there are some negative aspects to these change in the interaction. Despite the fact that people talk to their closed ones daily, the physical touch and warmth required to build an emotional bond is lacking. This sometimes leads to feeling insecure and disconnected from their partners. Additionally, there is an increase in incidents of fraudulent behavior and blackmailing for money. For example, the younger generation interacts with unknown people across the globe without knowing their real identity. Eventually, few of these young citizens share their personal information and end up being blackmailed for not leaking this information. In a nutshell, changes in the ways of communication has many benefits as it is easy, accessible and efficient. Feelings of insecurity, lack of warmth and risks of frauds are some of the demerits. Analyzing both the sides, it is undeniable that adopting the new ways of communication serves many benefits as compared to the threats.