Cambridge IELTS 8, Test 3 Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

They say that the immediate environment is where the heart is, so enhancing the cost of petrol can be effective to escape from the hustle and bustle and excluding contamination. In my opinion, I agree that raising the value of petrol ought to be efficient as it will greatly benefit both individuals and the environment. A good reason to for increase in the price of petrol is that it gives people, whether they may use their cars less. In other words, it leads to less traffic and fewer emissions which this could be specially effective for short trips or unnecessary driving, not only would be cost-efficient but also it lead to decrease long queue of vehicles ahead. Another point to consider is that higher fuel costs could make public transport a more attractive option, therefore incentivizing people to have public transport leading to fewer private vehicles on the road. Moreover, it will reduce both traffic congestion and pollution. Finally, increasing petrol prices will encourage people to use environmentally friendly alternatives. For example, people may invest in fuel-efficient or electric vehicles like Tesla’s car, which can help reduce pollution in the long term. Although it will not be affordable, the government could hold up traffic. In conclusion, higher fuel costs are a must for preventing contamination and avoiding being stuck in a jam, undeniably if societies improve the infrastructure of free rides, pollution will decrease dramatically in the world.