Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workspace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

Universities do an excellent job of preparing students for their future professions. Some believe that the main focus of graduate schools should be on providing the abilities and knowledge in a professional place, however, others hold the idea the other parts of knowledge are more important to concentrate on. The first view is more in line with my opinion even though this education should include both practical and holistic aspects. On the one hand, colleges should prioritize providing students with applicable skills that meet the demands of the job market. For example, offering practical training, internships, and courses that teach industry-specific competencies. With this approach, by enrolling in advanced programs, the collegian has fewer obstacles to worry about and are more confident to apply for new opportunities down the road. On the other hand, it is not wise to just only pay attention to practical expertness and ignore the holistic ones. In this era, many companies, besides technical expertise, are looking for fresh employment with highly emotionally intelligent skills such as critical thinking, creativity, communication, and ethics which are both essential and valuable proficiency for both personal and professional life. So, it would be advised to offer courses and simulations for practising and learning those ones in the universities too. In summary, I think it would be more practical for universities to not only work on the applicable skills of students but also on their holistic ones for a better career and life after graduation.