Some people say that to prevent illness and disease, governments should focus more on reducing environmental pollution and housing problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that governing bodies should put more effort in reducing pollution in the environment and difficulty in accomodation to ensure their citizens' overall welfare. I would completely agree with this argument because these two issues are the major contributors to the medical problems people are suffering these days.  There is no doubt that environmental pollution plays a crucial role in causing health issues. Since industrialization emits countless toxic gases into the atmosphere, people living in polluted environments, where fresh air is not available, suffer respiratory problems, such as choking and coughing. Although these problems seem to be trivial, they may eventually lead to devastating diseases, such as lung cancer, due to the continuous exposure to toxic wastes in the atmosphere. For example, it is reported that residents in urban areas of industrial countries including India and China are three times more likely to suffer from lung problems than people in other countries. Therefore, by focusing on promoting environmental conditions, authorities can enhance their citizens' health, preventing possible pollution threats. Another leading cause is the scarcity of proper accommodation. Many people in both developed and developing countries are forced to live on the street due to high monthly rent and mortgage. These homeless people are especially vulnerable to contagious diseases as they are not provided with basic sanitation facilities. As a result, they might pass these diseases to other people in the street, contributing to a sudden break-out of a pandemic. However, if governments can take steps to help these people, they can prevent this kind of disaster from happening, saving their people from potential health problems and ensuring them a roof on their heads.  In conclusion, many people argue that authoritative bodies should direct their efforts to promote environmental health and provide people with appropriate accommodations to prevent poor health conditions. I would definitely agree with his ideas as concentrating on mitigating the two major threats to human health would mitigate possible health problems.