In some counties young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing vhigh school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this?

Many countries have suggested on applying a law for the time students have between finishing highschool and starting university to either work or travel for educational purpose. I believe that this new encouragement will only harm them because for example, someone who has been living all his life in a region suddenly gets the oppourtunity to leave it, do you actually think he will come back? I hardly believe that in addition, the time thats that's between finishing highschool and starting university is best used in improving the highschoolers educational purpose, finding the best majors that matches their goals and the cv. Yes, work can give them an idea on life after highschool however its not fair for those who actually want to learn and have a future plan on how to use that extra time wisely. Few civilians have suggested that the jobs can be similar and related to the speciality they are inetrested in. For example, those who hope to be lawyers can attend court rooms and observe how the judge and lawyers interact and work on cases. Secondly, the time should be a shortcut to their dream university for instance, to use that on interviews and learning new things to help them understand that new job they are aiming on. Finally, I think the government should do a study on graduates on how they used that gap, if there's a huge difference into changing their lifestyle, I extermely recommend that law. In conclusion, I feel that those countries need to rethink about that as I hardly disagree with those laws and encourgements encouragement.