Some people believe that children should spend all their free time with their families, while others think they should spend more time with friends or in extracurricular activities. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people think that children should spend their leisure time with family, whereas others think children need to play with friends or participate in extracurricular activities. This essay will argue that although spending time with family instills cultural values, I believe that socializing with peers and pursuing extracurricular interests are vital for a child's development. On the one hand, people say that children need to spend their free time with family, as it helps them learn about their cultural values. When a child spends time with their parents and grandparents, they will understand the value of relationships and feel secure. For example, in India, during school holidays, children will be taken to their cousins' or grandparents' places to enjoy their break. This way, children will learn about different lifestyles and the values they follow. I believe that parents need to give their children an opportunity to explore something outside family boundaries. On the other hand, some people believe that children should play with friends and engage themselves in specialized games, skilled activities like swimming, and dance classes. Apart from the school curriculum, children should learn how to socialize with peers as they need to grow in this circumstance. Moreover, learning new skills will contribute to their mental and physical health. For instance, in the US, many parents send their children to summer camps and enroll them in coding classes, which makes them more efficient, and these learnings will help them in their adulthood. I believe this will help children to be social and explore their interests. In conclusion, during free time, children should not be restricted to know only about family values; they also need to get along with their peers and learn skills which they are interested in. I think parents should encourage their children to identify their interests and help them to develop the same.