Some people say that history offers no practical benefit to society while others claim that history teaches us to understand the present. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

History is the origin of the nation, which helps people to know about their real identity. Some groups of people think that it has no benefits for the society, while others think it provides valuable information. I would like to discuss both views and give my opinion at the end. On one hand, people believe it has no practical contribution because of modernization of the world. Put it in other words, due to technological advancement, we can make things in an easy way and in less time. So there is no need to look back and spend valuable time. Moreover, to search any historic place, more funds are required, and people believe that it is better to provide this money to the betterment of important sectors like healthcare and education. Thus, some parts believe that history has no practical benefits toward society. On the other hand, people believe it is important to know the history of a nation because it helps to preserve their culture and heritage values. Furthermore, lessons regarding their country's history teach their young ones to respect ancestors. For example, India has a big history, so whenever there is any need for the country, many people come forward. This is why most people believe that history gives valuable information for the country. To conclude, despite there are disadvantages like fund distribution and it takes more time, the advantages like giving respect to freedom and saving cultural values outweigh them. I believe that history teaches us valuable insights for the present.