Some people believe that it is more important to teach children the literature of their own country than other countries. Do you agree or disagree?

There is no denying the fact that literature is one of the core subjects to study in school. While it is commonly held to believe the controversy is important, some argue that youth learning about their country's historical subject is way more important than learning about other cultures. I disagree with the latter statement because reading about different histories can positively impact future decisions like traveling abroad and also growing a respectful adult. To begin with, nowadays undergraduates tend to travel abroad to study under many school programs. In other words, more opportunities might come when we expand the learning objectives for the students. For example, Oxford University held a post-graduate exchange program, where informative classes about other nations were added to the curriculum, they ended up selecting 10 people who had the strongest background about those nations since school. Another point to consider, expanding the knowledge of children at a young age about various parts of cultures will increase their interest and feed their curiosity and thus will lead to a grown and knowledgeable community that respects others' differences. For instance in Japan, primary school graduates are known for their wide range of information about China’s pottery which in turn increased their level of respect toward China’s ancient history. In conclusion, literature is one of the school subjects that should contain more than one historical chapter around the world, because this will lead to a better aspect in terms of children's educational future like high-level studies and their personal growth as individuals in society.