They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

The awareness of green living such as recycling is becoming a lifestyle, but only for some people. There are more individuals who never do those practices because they are not accostumed to. In order to enhance this effort, some people argue that governments should make laws on recycling. I would like to agree on that idea. In this essay I will elaborate two important reasons. Firstly, people need direct incentives in order to encourage them to do something. A law that provides proportional rewards and punishments for environment-friendly actions is an effective way to push people to act. We could not count on people's good willing to maintain our environment safety, since they have a lot of other duties in their life. For example, even though recycling will cost a lot for a company, but a tax incentive will motivate them to do it. Therefore, government could make a law that consist of rewards such as tax incentives for companies. Secondly, a law will set a standard for the communities to enhance good-practices especially since reclycing is a new thing. Not many people have a comprehensive understanding on how to do it. For example, in my office, even though management has separated trash bin into two categories as plastic and food, people still throw their plastic container to food-bin. In summary, law is needed in order to boost the recycling efforts. People need direct incentives that could be provided by law. Moreover, law will also function as a educative ways making people have more understanding. Therefore, I argue that law is an important tools to make people recycling more. After the recycling law published, it is also important to socialize it to the people.