Band 9: In many countries nowadays, consumers can go to a supermarket and buy food produced all over the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Having entered any shop, from big chain supermarket to a small grocery, it is not unusual to notice a variety of food, imported from different foreign countries. In many instances, this fad is strongly beloved among chefs and home cooks, however, others do not share the same enthusiasm, strongly believeing that it is extrememly harmful for local producers and farmers. From one point of view, the availability of different types of food makes a lot of people content purely on a psychological level. For example, the presence of Italian cheeses and delicacies undoubtedly inspires a lot of individuals to try various recipes from the Mediterranian cuisine, which, conequently, makes them happier. Moreover, simply by giving people an opportunity to choose from a plethora of products, this development unconciously creates a sense of freedom and democracy. For instance, when Russia banned the import of food from EU in 2014, nobody could forsee, that it was just another stepping stone towards the totaliarian state. On the other hand, some people with protectionalists protectionist views are convinced, that the import of foreign food will have a detrimental affect on local farmers and producers, due to the fact, that these product typically draw a lot of attention, despite being more expensive at times. However, in reality, in many situations the prices of the domestic products are much higher, which only worsenes worsens worsen the situation in the eyes of the consumers, for if the foreign products are more affordable and sometimes even of a higher quality, why even support local farmers? In conclusion, while I understand the concerns of many individuals for the local producers, I firmly believe that the import of product from foreign coutries have a positive impact not only on the consumers, but the farmers as well, by promoting a healthy competition and contrubiting to the global economy alltogether all together.