Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In this day and age, many people argue that the most prominent environmental problem that our world is facing is the loss of biodiversity, while others claim that other environmental problems should be prioritized. In the following essay, I am going to discuss both sides of this argument and state my opinion on this matter. On the one hand, the loss of one species could result in catastrophic consequences on the environment. This is because when a species faces extinction or has its number decreased to an alerting quantity, it could disrupt the food chain. Thus, this makes the number of its prey grow uncontrollably while simultaneously having the opposite effect on its predators. For example, coyotes are used to control the deer population, also to allow vegetation to recover. Moreover, wildlife also plays a crucial role in several natural processes, such as butterflies and bees are needed for pollination. Hence, given a scenario in which these species disappear, it could bring about severe consequences. On the other hand, there are much more pressing problems, such as pollution. As a result of industrialization and urbanization, pollution has become the greatest threat to humans and the environment, since many companies release toxic waste directly into water and soil without proper procedure, poisoning water sources and destroying animal habitats. Furthermore, deforestation also contributes to this problem, as jungles are being cut down for vacant lands to build more factories and for city expansion, resulting in an alarming level of CO2 in the atmosphere. In conclusion, while the diminishing in biodiversity is indeed dangerous to our society, there are other critical issues such as living in a polluted area. From my point of view, pollution is a more imminent threat to human life that needs to be prioritized.