Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Many social and practical issues are arise for those people who are living in a nation where they have to speak a foreign language. I partly agree that speaking in a foreign language can cause challenges for practical tasks although surely for social life. The prime issues are caused due to a barrier are social challenges. Mostly, people migrate to another country for their studies or career purposes. This requires a little proficiency in that specific language. Being, not much efficient in a foreign language can cause social isolation which make less interactive conversations with native speakers. This will have an impact on their friendly atmosphere at a workplace. Sometimes, a weak communication may be built up between native friends or colleagues which further may become a reason behind misunderstanding of various things. Moreover, the cultural differences also hinder the communication in a foreign language. For instance, around 20% of immigrants in Germany face cultural shock as Germans still rely on paperworks done in their own language which require to have good hands on Dutch language. Another issue is related to practical problems. But practical problems like understanding directions or having small conversations can be done by google maps and google translator respectively. I think daily practical challenges are sorted out by using advanced apps. Even nowadays, artificial intelligence has been launched which really comprehend the issue of commanding over a language. For example, my cousin has used google translator for communication with locals in Spain. So, these problems related to day to day situations are not remain any major problem. To conclude, by using advanced technology to hold a conversation in any foreign language almost solve practical problems so that’s why I partly agree with statement. Whereas social problems are main concern because it makes critical for any individual to get adapted in a foreign land without knowing their language.