Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think is a positive or a negative development?

In recent years, there is no denying the fact that a vast number of children have been using their smartphones for a long time. While it is common to use smartphones, it is one of the life demands. Using smartphones is an essential topic to discuss and analyze. Thus, before presenting my perspective, this essay aims to discuss both sides of the argument, the positives and negatives of using smartphones. On one hand, there are many distinctive benefits of children's use of smartphones. One of them is that most of the children would gain many skills from using smartphones regarding the learning videos that they were watching on their smartphones. In other words, they can improve their learning skills through a variety of platforms that they can find on mobile phones. Additionally, parents could discover the abilities, interests, and talents of their children while they were using smartphones. For example, my sister discovered that her son has good skills in photography and editing as well while he is using his mobile phone. On the other hand, there are many negatives of using smartphones. Firstly, using smartphones for a long time and for long periods may affect the mental health of children. It is possible to say watching video games may impact children's behaviour by making them aggressive. Moreover, children who use smartphones for long periods daily have unsocialized personalities. For instance, research from the University of Chicago has proved that 70% of children using smartphones have isolated personalities. In conclusion, there is no easy answer to this question. Using smartphones has brought many negatives to society; at the same time, it may produce many positives alike. On balance, however, I tend to believe that it all depends on how using smartphones and how the parents can manage to limit the time of using the mobiles.