Art classes, such as painting and drawing, are as important for children’s development as other subjects, so they should be compulsory in high school. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that art -related courses, such as painting, are as important as other subjects and should be considered mandatory in high school. However, in my view, these courses, although important to children's development, should only be optional in their curriculum. On the one hand, it must be acknowledged that the role of arts-related classes is as important as other classes. For example, while math regularly requires students to calculate and solve mathematical questions that help develop mental agility and problem-solving abilities, drawing and painting facilitate children's intellectual development. feeling. When participating in these classes, students have the opportunity to learn how to observe works of art and understand the artist's emotions through what they draw, which can help students become more familiar with understanding other people's feelings without having to acknowledge them. The importance of arts-based subjects is as great as English and other languages because they all help learners express their ideas better, using verbal communication such as speaking, or nonverbal channels such as how they sketch characters or use color patterns. On the other hand, no matter how important these subjects are, making them mandatory can negatively impact students in many ways. Firstly, not all students are passionate about art, which makes this subject a source of boredom and stress when students are forced to study. This time could have been allocated to other classes that they are more interested in so that they can utilize their time for things they enjoy. Second, if art is a mandatory subject in school, students who do not have artistic talent may have great difficulty getting good grades in this subject. It is not easy for everyone to improve their artistic skills in a short period, which can negatively affect a student's GPA at the end of the semester. In conclusion, although as beneficial to student development as other subjects, art courses should not be considered mandatory. Instead, schools need to find out what their students are best at so they can reach their full potential.