In some countries, Students are required to learn a foreign language. But, in other countries, people believe that they do not have to do so. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are two types of countries regarding of learning foreign language in school. The first type required students to learn foreign language. Nonetheless, other type believes that students do not have to study other language in school. Based on my personal experience, I am more incline to the first type. For countries that have mother-tounge language other than English, usually the government make policies for students to learn foreign language, especially English, at school. Their youngster need to master English in order to interact with global communities. In Indonesia, it is mandatory for students to study English from elementary school to high school. Hence, Indonesian students are familiar with English which is very usefull for them to read English text books in unversity level. However, is understandable for countries with English as their native language do not feel the urge to learn foreign language. For example, in the US, other language is not a mandatory subject in school. Children who like to learn other languages could take courses after school hours. Or else, they can study foreign language when they are in university. In conclusion, the need to master other language become the main reasons for countries to require their youngsters to study foreign languages or not. For non English speaking countries, it is important to immerse their young population to global community, by making them study English. For countries that English are their native language, there is no urge to do this. In my experience as an Indonesian, it is essential for me to learn English because it will expand my world to abroad.