some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Trung

In the contemporary era, prisoner rate are increasing significantly across the globe and all countries are trying to deal with this pressing issue. While a section of the society believe that prison sentences for a longer duration can help reduce the crime. In my opinion there are other better ways to solve this. There are many reasons why some people believe that offenders should be punished with long prison sentences because this phenomenon can invoke fear among other criminals. In other works, if an individual is already aware of the intensity of punishment before committing any crime, it will deter one from becoming a criminal. For example, in the Thailand, the rapist and the murderer usually get lifetime prison sentences, resulting in making people think twice before committing any serious crime. As a result, crime tends to decrease due to fear of being arrested. On the other hand, I would argue that there are better ways to reduce law – breaker such as providing proper education facilities, community services and employment. Sufficient education and job opportunities keep the masses busy and stay away from illegal activities. To exemplify, in Sweden education is free for everybody and the government actively creates many occupation opportunities. That is the reason why Sweden tops the list of peaceful countries where the crime rate is almost ignorable. To conclude, longer prison terms certainly instil fear in the minds of potential criminals and discourage them from committing offences. However, eradicating the root cause of crime by providing education and employment opportunities is a far better option.