Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environement. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

The environment is damaged by our use of various plastic products such as bags, bottles and packaging. There is a considerable negative effecton environment by these plastics, which can only be tackled by collective approach of governments and individuals as explained below. Most importantly, the nature has evolved for millions of years without plastics in it, thus it is unprepared. For instance, birds die by getting their head stuck inside plastic bottles when they try to drink the water inside. Hence, animals lack the ability to comprehend how plastics can harm them. Because of this lack of comprehension, plastics are silent killers of fauna. Another example is buildup of plastic waste on ocean surface. Because of this buildup, water cannot absorb enough oxygen and become less habitable for all kinds of marine plants and fish. Fortunately, there are ways with which individuals and government can collaborate to solve this problem. For instance, individuals can raise awareness of the issues caused by plastics in their communities and promote use of reusable bags and bottles. Additionally, governments can impose taxes on plastics, hence increasing the price and decreasing the demand for such products. In conclusion, to tackle the issues caused by the plastic products both governments and individuals need to take action.