Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

The environment is damaged by our use of various plastic products such as bags, bottles and packaging. There is a considerable negative effect on environment by these plastics on both animals and plants. This issue can only be tackled involvement of both governments and individuals taking actions suggested below. Most importantly, the nature has evolved for millions of years without plastics in it, thus it is unprepared. For instance, birds die by getting their head stuck inside plastic bottles when they try to drink the water inside. Hence, animals lack the ability to comprehend how plastics can harm them. Because of this lack of comprehension, plastics are silent killers of fauna. Another example is buildup of plastic waste, mainly bottles, on ocean surface. Because of this buildup, exchange between water and air diminishes. Furthermore, water without sufficient oxygen absorbtion become less habitable for all kinds of marine creatures. Fortunately, there are ways with which individuals and governments can collaborate to solve this problem. On one side, individuals can raise awareness of the issues caused by plastics in their local communities and promote use of reusable bags and bottles. Additionally, individuals can make the decision of not buying products of companies that use plastic packaging to deter them from using plastics. On the other side, governments can impose taxes on plastics, hence increasing the price. Subsequently, the increased price would mean less demand for such products. In conclusion, to tackle the issues caused by the plastic products both governments and individuals need to take action.