Is it important for schools to make art a compulsory part of the curriculum? Discuss both views and give your opinion."

There is an ongoing debate on whether art should be a mandatory subject in school, with differing opinions on its importance. Some people argue that art is essential, while others believe that academic subjects such as mathematics and science should be prioritised. In my opinion, although art plays a significant role in student development, it should not be compulsory for all students. On one hand, Art encourages creativity and critical thinking which are significant skills to develop in early age. Developing such skills can benefit them in their careers in technology or science. Moreover, art enhances emotional intelligence and makes a space for them to express themselves freely as it promotes mental health. On the other hand, people argue that students should focus on core subjects like mathematics and science in order to prepare them for the job market. Also, not all students have interest in art which might result in disengagement during art classes. Therefore, making it mandatory would frustrate students and burden them to perform well. So I believe it should be an elective class for students to enjoy and develop their talents without bringing the pressure of performance. To sum up, while art is a crucial aspect of life, I think it should not be compulsory for all students. Although art fosters creativity and emotional intelligence, core subjects such as mathematics and science are essintial for preparing students for future careers. Therfore, art should remain an elective subject, allowing students to choose whether they want to presue presume it without the pressure of mandatory performance.