Social Media has made it easy to be in touch with your friends and family. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, social media plays an essential role in people's daily lives, which has become the main platform for individuals to share their personal experiences. The benefits of networking sites are obvious, for example, they forster connection and provide opportunities. However, oversharing intimate information also poses risks to society. From my point of view, the pros of social media surpass its cons. Firstly, social media strengthens relationships. This is because, sharing experiences, photos and stories on digital platforms not only allows individuals to connect with their friends and family, but also gives them chances to make new friends across the globe. According to the report by BBC News, social media, such as Instagram and Facebook, are now the primary platforms for people to make new friends. Secondly, sharing personal information on social media can open up opportunities for professional networking and career growth. For instance, an increasing number of people are using networking platforms, such as Linkedin, to promote their skills, share achievements and engage with others in their industry. Professionals can connect with like-minded individuals and potential employers, making social media a powerful tool for personal and professional growth. Nevertheless, sharing information on online websites can lead to negative consequences as private information will be disclosed to the public. The detrimental effects include identity theft, privacy violation, financial loss, emotional and psychological harm and so on, which pose severe threats to the community and make people feel less safe. In conclusion, although there are adverse impacts that the use of social media can have on individuals, communities and society, its positive effects like enhancing communication and creating opportunities cannot be ignored. The most important thing is that the public should realise the potential risks of sharing information and use social networking websites more wisely and responsibly.