Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste.

There is no doubt that recycling is very important to reduce waste and relieve the burden to our landfill. There are many people who think that there is a problem of the lack of recycling from residential sector and they suggested to encourage the recycling habit by taking legal action. I completely agree that raising the awareness of recycling at home is necessary but there are more ways to do so than making laws to restrict people following. To begin with, I would like to discuss drawbacks for administrating legal action to increase recycling. First, it is a complicated and lengthy process to make it a legal requirement. For instance, it involved drafting the framework and practical procedures in the law, taking it to court or parliament for government members to agree. Moreover, if the law is established in requesting people to recycle at home, it may require massive manpower and resources to implement the legal action, which may create a lot of unnecessary waste. It seems to me that the lengthy and complicated process of making household recycling legal is against the original intention of reducing waste. On the other hand, if it is a legal requirement for people to recycle at home, it may create the stress and resentment from the public that has a negative impact of the intention of encouraging recycling. To illustrate, taking legal action usually involved implementing fines that the general public are being forced to recycle, rather than genuinely reducing waste due to their care of environment. As a result, restricting recycling by law has a negative impact of people ’s intention of reducing waste and recycling. In conclusion, household recycling is very important and it may be lacking at the moment, I believe there are better ways to encourage it rather than taking legal action to force people to recycle.