Some people think only best students should be rewarded. Others think we should reward students who make progress. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Every educational institution has their own outstanding students which are measured by different aspects. Not all of them become the top among others since the beginning, but there are also some students who work harder to fill the knowledge and skill gap between them and their peers. This essay will cover my opinion regarding which students deserve an appreciation from two points of view. Going through the track record of best students, they usually specialize in certain field. It doesn't take only one night to master a skill, nevertheless, it take years to explore it. Despite the possibility of being gifted, they may have been struggling with trials and errors and learning from their failure. Some of them already started working on their specialty since they were in a young age, making them have a better opportunity to become the best among the others. Being the best student also indicates the resistency in themselves, as it is more challenging to keep on track than to start it. While some students have been excellent since the beginning, some others start making a progress with a different timeline and pace. It is normal for people to discover their potential later than their peers. Despite the difficulty to measure a progress, it can be quantified by their score improvement in exam and qualified by their achievement in a competition or career matters. Taking a further steps is not easy when a student doesn't have a willingness to grow and feel pessimistic. Therefore, those who want to improve their skill must have a high motivation. In my opinion, becoming the best and making a progress is not mutually exclusive. It may be easier and feasible to pick the best student for a reward by seeing their final result of learning. However, those who create improvements every passing time will have a higher chance to become the best in the future. The most important thing is to be consistent with the main goal and to not give up in the middle of the journey.