Overcrowded classrooms can hinder the teaching and learning process, affecting both teachers and students. Explore the causes of overcrowding in schools and propose practical solutions to manage classroom sizes and improve the quality of education

In today’s modern society, there is an increasing concern about excessive students in schools that would impair learning activities. There seem to be three main causes, and several effects which we will discuss here. Possibly the main cause is the increased number of populations that reside in the urban area. Urban migration, be it from local or international sources, resulted in the city’s educational facilities being used up. For example in Malaysia, in rural places, the total number of students in schools is substantially lower as compared to large cities such as Kuala Lumpur and Johor Bahru. A further well-known factor is personal preferences of education centres where the majority of parents tend to send their children to study in higher performance schools with renowned reputations than others. Finally, it is obvious that many existing school buildings are dilapidated with outgrowing spaces. This learning environment is unfavourable and hinders an efficient learning process. Turning to the possible remedies, probably the most effective measure is to increase school sessions to twice a day rather than the traditional single morning class. If more sessions were available, the number of kids in each learning period would be greatly minimized and this measure is undeniably effective in optimizing both children's and teachers’ attention during the teaching and learning process. Secondly, if the government took initiatives to improve the outdated school infrastructures, many children would benefit from more comfortable and spacious classrooms. Overall, the problems caused are both individual and social factors and the measures should involve coordinated actions by the school management and the government.