Do you think consumers should avoid over packaged products or it is the responsibility of the producer to avoid extra packaging of products?” Give your views or any relevant example with your own experience.

Some people believe that consumers should avoid over-packed products, while others believe that it is the responsibility of the producers to reduce over-packaging of products. I personally believe that while producers can only control the over-packaging of products, consumers can mostly control the packaging of products because if they do not purchase over-packaged products, producers will not be encouraged to manufacture over-packaged products. Producers are solely responsible for the packaging of products because they produce, package and distribute consumer goods among consumers. While packaging, it is the responsibility of the producers to become conscious about environmental pollution and the harmful effect of overpackaging on the environment. For example, these days, many manufacturers from Japan are environment conscious, and therefore, they believe in almost zero packaging of all materials and food. However, I personally believe that the public can encourage the producers to reduce packaging because they will ultimately purchase products. Consumers can control packaging because ultimately they will buy products, and the profit depends on their purchase. If consumers become protective of the environment, they will avoid purchasing over-packaged products. As a result, producers will encounter loss in their businesses, which will encourage them not to add accessive packaging to products. For instance, in India, people are very environment conscious, and they do not want to buy over-packaged fruits and other consumer goods, and manufacturers, therefore, do not produce over-packaged products. Therefore, I think that only consumers can effectively control over-packaging. In conclusion, I personally believe that while producers have the responsibility to control packaging, consumers can control it more effectively because they can stop buying if products are over-packaged.