Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that athe circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivationfor committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Some people believe that every crime should involve punishments strategies which are fixed, while others argue that the overall circusmtances of the crime situation including the individual motivating for committing the crime should be considered regarding punishment decision. To begin with, proponents of the first viewpoint believe that believe that fixed punishment could contribute to a more efficient legal system by providing clarity and simplifying the sentencing process, while could result in a fewer appeals and a reduction in the time a case spends in the judicial system. Having fixed punishment for crimes could serve as a deterrent to potential offender, since they would clearly understand the consequences of their actions. Moreover, fixed punishment could contribute to establish equality in the sentencing, making sure that everyone received the same punishment for the same offence regardless of their background and social status. However, fixed punishments do not take into account the unique circumstances of each crime, such as the level of intent, which can vary greatly between cases and should influence the severity of the punishment. Taking into accound the circumstances and motivations behind crimes could lead to more just and tailored sentencing that considers the individual's background, such as socio-economic factors, psychological state, coercion, potentially leading to rehabilitation rather than punishment. Considering circumstances can also help in addressing the root causes of the crimes, leading to the reduced rates of crimes by taking preventive measures. For example, children from marginalized background might be involved in taking drugs due to the lack of family relationship and financial instability. In this case, taking rehabilitation approaches and providing secured livelihood opportunities instead of imprisoning these children will be more fruitful. To sum up, it is imperative to take into account the unique situation of every crimes.