Many people around the world use social media everyday to keep in touch with other people and get news events. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvatages?

Nowadays, people use social media to keep up with the news. Many individuals globally use social media platforms to stay in touch with their relatives and to see news related to world affairs. This essay will discuss the potential benefits and drawbacks of this trend and will explain why the demerits outweigh the merits. There are various advantages of this trend. First and foremost, is the convenience.The world has become a global village; now people do not have to wait for 8pm news transmission. They can open their phones and can access the news related to world affairs, natural disasters and crucial political events. For example, few decades ago people use to rely on news channels and newspapers and have to wait for the next day to receive the fresh news, social media has provided the access to worldwide news. The other benefit is that the social media has provided the opportunity to stay in touch with the loved ones especially who live abroad or are located in the other cities. Platforms such as whatsapp,skype and facebooks have facilitated for the reconciliation among people. Before these amenities, letters were used to sent Change the form of the verb send show examples, which use to take months, however, with the arrival of these platforms, folks can get in touch with their loved ones. The downsides, however, outweigh the advantages. Social media news is heavily biased, the algorithim is designed in way to understands our bias and shows us the news which we want to see. For instance, if a person belongs to left wing, he will only get the news of left wing, which leads to ignorance. Furthermore, it is not feasible to differenciate between the true and false news. Whereas it can lead to trust issues. Moreover, the extreme use of social media is contributing to the sluggish lifestyle. People spend most of their time on these websites which is the main cause of inactivity. In conclusion, social media without any scepticisim is the source which keeps them updated about significant global details, however, its drawbacks outweigh the benefits because it is not completely trustworthy.