Children nowadays watch TV programmes more than ever before. Is watching television good or bad for children? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

In recent times, youngsters spend more time than ever on television. The argument is that watching TV programmes has both good and bad effects on children. Both views will be thoroughly analyzed and discussed in this essay before presenting a reasoned conclusion. On one hand, there are several advantages that can be taken from TV channels' activities for students. Firstly, if they focus more on educational programmes while they watch TV, a lot of important facts can be learned. For example, by watching a science fiction cartoon, kids will be able to gain knowledge about basic scientific phenomena. Secondly, pupils can learn a secondary language if they watch foreign language programmes on a regular basis. To cite an example, in Sri Lanka, parents allow their babies to watch English cartoons as English is a crucial language for their future. This is why it can be argued that television has a positive impact on the younger generation. On the other hand, some argue that spending more time on TV is harmful to scholars. Because, wasting too much time on television causes poor performance in academic. For instance, in Sri Lanka, the majority of school children are addicted to cartoons and waste their whole evening by entertaining them. Moreover, some are used to watching adult programmes, such as teledramas, TV series, and movies, and try to apply those things to their practical lives, which can endanger their lives. Therefore, it is clear that there are adverse things due to TV programmes. In conclusion, while both favourable and unfavourable are there in watching television, harmful effects are more significant. This is because children easily adopt bad things when they have little motivation towards them and waste their precious time for nothing when they should spend it on their education and physical well-being.