Some school leavers choose to travel or work for a year before going to university. What might me the reason for this? What are the advantages or this practice?

In this essay I am going to explain why it is better to take a year after finishing high school to trvavel or work before going to university. Firstly, if we take a gap year we will have the opportunity to work and travel around the world and get to know as many cuntries, cultures and people as we can. This two things could give us experiences that we might never have if we do not take a year. In addition, if you do an intership in the future it could help you with the knowledge required to apply for a job. Secondly, It is not rare that school leavers do not know what to study after graduating. At the age of 18 almost anyone is sure of what they want to do in the future, it is not eassy to say I want to study this an work there. For example, in my personal experience it took me three years to decide which studies I want it to do. And thirdly, if you do not take a gap year after leaving high school, it is very posible that you will not be able to do it in another opportunity, because you will be in university and then you will have to work or form a family. Nevertheless, there is a downfall, if you take a gap year will be late at least one year and the ones from your generation will not. In conclusion, taking a year to travel or to do an intership it will give you the chances to live some experiences that you might never have, and even though you will be late with your studies that does not win over the all the arguments in favor of taking a gap year.