Most people pay taxes to contribute to the development of their country, however, some think they do not have to pay taxes. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While some people believe that it is not required to pay taxes, others are of the opinion that in order to help their nation develop, they must contribute by paying it regularly. However, I believe that as responsible citizens of the country it is our moral duty to help our nation progress. Hence all must pay the taxes. On the one hand, a part of the country’s population postulates that we must not pay extra taxes because all the products and services we purchase have a certain amount of tax added to its cost price. So, it is absolutely unnecessary that the consumers pay additional taxes. Spending more on taxes by the buyers, renders all the goods expensive, ultimately leading the people to have less savings for themselves in the cases of emergency. In order to save more money, people will prefer to not buy such services which affects all the businesses and industries of the nation. This consequently leads to economic instability. For example, the implementation of the ‘Goods and Services tax’ in India, has caused a hike in the prices of all the essential goods. This has affected many poor people who are now unable to buy things required for their daily livelihood. On the opposite hand, another proportion of the population believes that as good citizens, it is our responsibility to help the nation prosper. This necessitates the countrymen to contribute by paying regular taxes. This taxation money helps to increase the financial reserves which can be used for various purposes like improving the educational and medical services along with strengthening the defence system for securing the national borders. A good educational, healthcare and security system ultimatley supports in the development of the nation and its citizens as a whole. Therefore, I believe that for the prosperity of the nation and wellbeing of the countrymen, it is vital that all the people pay taxes. To summarize, although many people think that they do not have to pay taxes, I personally disagree to this statement because helping the government in development of our own country is an unavoidable duty, and each citizen must contribute to it in the form of taxes.