Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

University education offers a plethora of majors and subjects to study about. However, because of that freedom, there are different points of view about whether college students should just dedicate their time and effort to finish what they started, or to broaden their horizons by learning various different subjects than their main one. Both points of view will be discussed further in this essay. First of all, it is obvious that one should fully immerse their mind in one specific subject to become an expert. An example of this would be how Stephen Hawking, a Nobel Prize laureate, spent most of his life studying the science of time and space before being considered as one of the best astrophysicists of all time. By focusing only on one specific subject, our minds could be more sharpened and familiar with finding flaws and innovations that are necessary for the advancements of the field. On the other hand, having some degree of understanding in various subjects can also come in handy in certain scenarios. For example, if we were to be leaders who oversee different divisions and tasks, having just enough experience in the fields that we manage would result in more contextual and realistic decision-making. This notion is directly demonstrated in research in 2022 by Martin Anggia and colleagues, which proved that managers with experiences in two or more different fields consistently produced a series of more efficient decisions. In summary, both studying paths have their own specific benefits. However, my personal preference aligns more with the former argument, as it is predicted that there will be more demand for experts than ‘jack of all trades’ in the future.