In many countries, people now wear western-style dress such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing. Is this a positive or negative development?

The fashion sense of the West is spreading to many parts of the world and being preferred over national clothing. I think this is a completely negative development for 2 main reasons. Firstly, traditional clothing helps a nation to protect its national identity and losing it would assimilate the values of that nation. Furthermore, national outfits carry significance for a lot of nationalities as they are designed with patterns which are reflections of those nationalities’ past struggles and successes. The loss of these design features would only contribute to erasing the knowledge of the past. In addition, said design features allow fashion designers to add these features to everyday clothing and bring more variety into the pool of options we have for dressing up which otherwise would have been bland due to repetitive looks. Secondly, the fashion industry that produces western-style clothing is known to be creating waste and polluting the planet. For example, a lot of big corporations follow the trend of fast fashion which is a negative practice of marketing. This marketing strategy involves making customers dispose of whatever piece they bought in previous years to purchase the new season products to avoid being called out-of- fashion. Consequently,the success of this initiative leads to fabric waste filling landscapes as fabric waste cannot be recycled easily like other materials such as metals or plastics due to low awareness of this issue. In conclusion, the spread of Western outlook on clothing harms the preservation of traditional outfits which contributes to keeping a nation’s past alive and also, aligns with negative practices such as fast fashion that harms the environment.