Some people believe that time spent on television and computer games can valuable for children. Other believe this has negative impact on a child. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Debates have sparked around the benefits and drawbacks of the big screen since it became widely availabale and easily accessible. Some opponents argue that the device can be deterimental to children, while others assert the opposite. In this essay, we will adress both arguments before presenting my stance. On one hand, the proponents argue that the presence of televisions in households present countless advantages. The primary and main advantage is offering the young generation a window into the world; as they can admire historical buildings in various parts of the world, or watch wild exotic animals in jungles and savanas, or be entertained by colourful educational cartoons within the comfort of their homes. For instance, growing up, i used to watch scientific shows simplified and catered to children. These shows banalised scientific principals and made me not only appreciate physics, but also understand the subject in ways no teacher has ever done before. On the other hand, the opponents assert that despite it being helpful in many cases; flat screens can also cause alot of harm. The disadvantages stem from the harmful effect television can have on children's health, whether it be physical health or mental health. For example, many clinical studies and researches have been centred around the effects of television on the eye-sight of the youth - and depending on the distance and the duration - many have found that the bright lights from the device can not only cause myopia but also cause astigmatism. Furthermore, a countless number of programs can be deemed as children inappropriate and in turn cause psycological traumatisms. To prevent this, some programs ask for viewers discretion and present age restrictions; unfortunetly, unless an adult is present, these terms can not be enforced. Hence exposing young innocent souls to hurtful and harmful content. In conclusion, both sides present valuable arguments and powerful in-sight regarding this issue. From my perspective, i believe that it can be adventageous for the children to sit in front of what once used to be called the black box, but the sessions must be short in time, the viewer has to keep a reasonable distance from the device, and finally the program needs to be age-appropriate.