Many people in society believe that having fixed punishment for all crimes is a more efficient way of dealing with criminals in the justice system. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a fixed punishment system?

Some people argue that it is important to have fixed judgement for all crimes to increase the efficiency of our judiciary system. In this essay, I would explain both the advantages and disadvantages for this plan. The main advantage of having certain standards of punishment for all cases is that it gives the judges a clear guideline, thus making the decision-making process much more easier. This easiness then could make our judiciary system less costly in handling crimes indicement inducement. For instance, the judges does not need to look for each cases in detail and refer to the past decisions made by other judges for similar cases, since there are some standards that could be looked at for. But, this plan is also has its disadvantage. Not all standards could equally applied to all cases that certain courts received, since most likely that each cases is different in their characteristics from each others. This uniqueness of every cases make fixed punishment is not giving a justice based on its specific conditions of cases. Hence, it could rise the risk of injusticeness to prevail in our justice system. For example, if there is two cases that have similar main characteristics but difference in detail, it is not a wise choice to make these two cases equal based on the same standards. For conclusion, the fixed punishment for all crimes could bring its advantages of efficiency. However, there is a risk of injustice when we applied the same standards on different cases that is having the same main characteristics, but different in its details.