Question: Many people are now choosing to buy goods online instead of purchasing them from physical stores. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of shopping online. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this contemporary world, the choices of humans are changing rapidly. Nowadays, people are preferring online shopping instead of visiting the stores in person, and this is happening because of advancements in technology. This shift has numerous benefits such as digital purchasing is a time-saving process and this can help the environment in different ways. However, unavailability of physical inspection and rise in unemployment are major drawbacks. To commence with, virtual purchasing offers plethora of benefits to the consumers. Firstly, the first and foremost merit of this shift is that it is completely a time-saving method. Customers can purchase anything from home, and this gives good deals on every product with the comparison of the prices through different websites. For example, many virtual shopping apps such as Amazon, Jamu Shopping offer a variety of goods with cheap prices and do the home delivery of all purchased items. Additionally, this practice gives many benefits to the ecosystem such as buying and selling products from home can reduce the problems of traffic congestion, which can help to improve the overall air quality. Moreover, this can reduce the noise pollution as well. Conversely, physical examination of the product is not possible which is a major drawback of this option. Many buying goods need live checking for different purposes such as in clothing items’ quality, type of fabric for coziness, and perfect size. It is mandatory to check, but in online shopping, this is impossible. Besides it, the second disadvantage of this alteration is an increase in unemployment cases as employers do not need more employees in stores. In the recent decade, many people lose their jobs and became unemployed. For instance, a recent study of Oxford University found that 65% persons lost their jobs after Covid-19 as this was the time when online shopping was at the peak period. To conclude, every shift has its own pros and cons. Digital purchasing can save time and protect the ecosystem in many ways, which are some major merits. However, the poor physical examination and increase in the job-losing cases are major cons which cannot be ignored!