Many people believe that bicycle is a healthy and environmentally-friendly mode of transport. However, it is no longer the main form of transport. What are the reasons? What could be done to encourage the use of bicycles among the all wider population?

It is widely believed that cycling is one form of transportation which is safe for the environment and also beneficial health-wise. Despite its advantages, it is not considered the major mode of transport. This essay will explain the main reasons for the increase in the use of bicycles and some possible solutions to this problem. There are various factors that could contribute to the recent lack of bicycle usage, but i will focus on two most important reasons, which are, the lack of suitable road conditions and the availability of more easier methods of transportation. Recently, road constructions have been targeted towards vehicles such as trucks, cars and so on, making it less safe to ride bicycles, especially in extreme weather. For instance, imagine riding a bicycle during winter, while it's snowing or in a foggy condition, in the midst of cars due to a lack of designated cycling lanes. This is unsafe and might endanger the cyclist. Also, these days there are more favourable public means of transportation, such as the metro, buses and trams, so one does not have to deal with cycling, especially when they are running late for work. Some possible solutions to this problem are building of designated bicycle lane and educating the public about the benefits of using bicycles. Governments should focus on creating safe and comfortable roads for bicycle users in order to encourage more people to delve into using them. Moreover, the Majority of people are not aware of the health advantages of cycling. Such as, free exercising without the need for the gym, which can decrease the risk of obesity and also save the environment from air and noise pollution. Therefore, it is essential to teach the community about these good effects. To conclude, the lack of better traffic conditions and the availability of other travelling methods are the possible reasons for the decline in bicycle usage. However, can significantly lessen that with better road constructions and awareness educational programs