Many people nowadays spend a large part of their free time using a smartphone What do you think are the reasons for this Do yo think this is a postive or negative development

Smartphones have become increasingly popular because people use them regularly, particularly in their free time. In my opinion, this is because most individuals want to fulfil their satisfaction by playing with asmartphone since they can access everything more easily, which can lead to downsides as it has a detrimental influence on the user. Playing a cell phone is undoubtedly fulfilling because people consistently seek full enjoyment through it. This can drive them away from living in boredom as it can offer exciting activities, which would satisfy the users and spark a pleasant feeling to experience everlasting happiness. For instance, most college students generally spend their leisure time during a long break by watching interesting videos or surfing through social media as they find it helpful to relieve their stress due to a packed schedule. Thus, people will use their leisure time for playing on a phone if they want to feel more dynamic and less stressful. On the other side, the excessive usage of smartphones will cause an addiction, which results in fewer interactions with other people. They will lack social skills as they tend to focus on their phones without paying attention to their surroundings. To exemplify, a teenager in the U.S. often plays his smartphone games continuously, which makes him unable to communicate with his friends and family properly since he cannot express himself because he is already addicted to virtual reality rather than his actual life. To conclude, people will always look for fulfilment that can reduce their burdens or make them happier. However, this habit will turn into an obsession that will negatively affect their life, which makes people struggle to socialize and maintain their relations with others.